2013 Recipients

Youth Services Pioneers

The 2013 Heroes Day theme of Youth Services proudly honours and recognises individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of Youth Services in the Cayman Islands, at all levels, and from its early beginnings to the present.

Early Pioneers

Valentine Anderson (D) Una Bush (D) Pearl M. Carter, Cert. Hon. (D) Iva Good Rev John Gray (D) Elizabeth Hurlston, MBE, Cert. Hon. Sybil Joyce Hylton, MBE, Cert. Hon. (D) Janet McCoy (D) Timothy "Teacher" McField, MBE (D) Olive H. Miller, MBE, Cert. Hon., JP. **Ernest Panton** G. Evangelyn "Vangie" Rankin Una Marie Rankine (D) Ena Louise Watler (D) Esther Vernicia-Watler Theoline Wellington, Cert. Hon.

Pioneers

Marjorie P. Beckles, Cert. Hon. (D) Heather Bodden Bernie Bush Marjorie Bush Sharol Bush Winston Chung Dr. Joanna Clarke, BEM, JP. Ulalee Marisa Crawford, Cert. Hon. Brenda Dawkins Louise Dibben **Gregory Ebanks** Mario E. Ebanks Zelmalee Frances Ebanks, Cert. Hon. Julie Hunter Katherine Jackson, Cert. Hon. Margaret Jackson Effie J. Johnson, MBE

Jennifer King Sharon Marie Martin, Cert. Hon. Virginia McCoy, JP. (D) Joan McField Debra Ann McLaughlin Sherri Lee McLaughlin Gwenda McLean Langlie Olson Powery Oswell M. Rankine, JP. **Esther Aleatha-Rivers** Elsa Annie Rose Scott, Cert. Hon. Emily Seymour, Cert. Hon. **Beulah Smith** Andrea Stephens Lieutenant Dave C. Thompson Pastor Clarence Russell Turner

The Certificate and Badge of Honour

The Cayman Islands Certificate and Badge of Honour recognises outstanding service to the nation and is awarded on the basis of achievement, excellence and merit. The list is published twice yearly: at New Year's and in mid-June on The Queen's official birthday.



John Cameron Jackson Doak, Cert. Hon.

Owen Murphy Farrington, Cert. Hon. Claira Juanita Range, Cert. Hon.

Order of the Cayman Islands

The National Honours and Awards Bill, passed in 2010, recognises distinguished service to the Cayman Islands community. These honours may be granted posthumously and do not interfere with any granted by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, the Governor or Cabinet, nor do they supersede any award bestowed by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. The National Honours and Awards Committee advises the Premier on granting awards in three categories, based on public nominations. The Leader of the Opposition is consulted before the appointment of committee members.

Medal of Honour

May be granted to any person who has rendered eminent service of national importance to the Islands or who has performed an outstanding, brave or humane act for a national of the Islands or other country.

Medal of Merit

May be granted in classes of gold or silver to any person who has given long and meritorious service in the

Long Service Award

May be granted to any person who has served diligently and demonstrated exemplary conduct for a period of



Commander (CMH):

Capt. Dale Morrison Banks Dr. Sarath de Alwis-Seneviratne Estella Scott-Roberts Alfred Lawrence Thompson, JP.

Officer (OMH): David Allan Archbold Lillian C. Archer, JP. Pastor Torrence Andre Bobb Cardinal W. M. Dacosta

John Wallace Macmillan

Michael D. Martin

Member (MMH): Dorrette Mercedez Armstrong Paulette Larris Conolly-Bailey Bernard Antonio Powell Dr. Dalton Errald Watler-Lyons Lizette Rachel Yearwood

Commander



arts, sciences, literature or other fields to the Cayman Islands.

Gold

Silver

Gold (GMM): Edith Elma Ebanks Esther Patricia Ebanks Gregory Donovan Ebanks Laris Bernet Ebanks Ellen Merrice Eden Francine Eldona Jackson Kennedy Rayford Kelly Catherine Alexandra O'Neil Jane Elizabeth Ramoon Jeremiah Ransome Jean-Eric Smith Anderson Leroy White

Silver (SMM): Patrick Broderick Sr. Nettie Udeen Bush Rita Mae Bush Eva Josephine Habib Paul Peter Leonce Christabel Agnes McCoy Miguel Amstead McFarlane Wilburt Ewin Myles Rexford Watler Thelda Sue Whittaker

twenty years in the public service.



William Michael Dilbert Langlie Olson Powery Ezmie D. Smith Mary Emily Wilks

© Crown Copyright 2013

HEROES DAY

Mare Invited ...

It's time again to reflect on our heritage and be inspired for the future.

This is a time to honour those who developed Youth Services in these Islands.

This day is also a time to recognize our National Heroes, and to welcome recipients of the Order of the Cayman Islands' medals and the Queen's Honours.

oin Us.

Heroes Square, Downtown George Town

Monday 28 January 2013 Please be seated by 8:30 a.m.

Live entertainment and free refreshments follow the ceremony. Dress: Business Attire



CAYMAN ISLANDS G O V E R N M E N T